Posted by: Liz Massey | July 4, 2009

From the Archives: A Creative Person’s Bill of Rights

920695_26615421

Photo courtesy SXC.

Happy Independence Day! I hope if you live in America, you are celebrating the founding of our nation with foods you love, activities that bring you closer to your friends and family and “the pursuit of happiness.”

Last year, I posted what I called “A Creative Person’s Bill of Rights” on the blog. I am pleased with this post—it’s one of my personal favorites. Too often, we think of “creative freedom” in very foggy terms, and I enjoyed trying to quantify what rights I thought were inalienable to all artists, living anywhere in the world.

You can read the post and let me know what you think of it. Has it aged well?

This is part of the preamble I wrote to the list of rights. I hope you enjoy it, as well as the entire post.

“I believe creativity is an inherent part of being human, but it also fits closely with the American spirit. A lot of the positive “can-do” actions that our fellow citizens have taken throughout our nation’s history have been innovative or paradigm-setting in some way–in short, they were creative acts. Exercising our creativity is vital to building healthy hobbies, careers, relationships, communities.”

Read “A Creative Person’s Bill of Rights

Leave a Reply

Categories

